Everything That Went Down at Marvel’s SDCC Panel

Marvel fans once again gathered in Hall H at the San Diego Comic-Con this year to see all the new announcements for the upcoming films and shows that would be coming to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The panel did not disappoint, with over 10 major announcements about the future of the franchise.

Before all the exciting announcements and reveals got underway, the Hall H panel began with a conclusion to the era of Marvel Cinematic Universe films that we have all grown to love. The past 23 movies, ending with Spiderman: Far From Home, are officially wrapped up into the ‘The Infinity Saga’, with an official logo revealed on screen. 

With a conclusion to phases 1 – 3, the announcements for phase 4 began. With very little knowledge of any of the upcoming planned films prior to the panel, it would be an understatement to say that the internet was quite excited over both the announcements themselves, but also the number of announcements as well.

The Line-up

Starting off the panel was the reveal of the star-studded cast in the upcoming Chloe Zhao directed film, Eternals, which includes: Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden, Ma Dong-Seok, Kumail Nanjiani, Salma Hayek, and Brian Tyree Henry. The release date was also announced as November 6, 2020. 

Marvel Studios’ The Eternals
Source: Marvel Studios

Next up was the first news of one of the upcoming Disney+ series. First, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, which was given an official logo and is set to release in Fall 2020. There was also a little tease of the return of Daniel Brühl’s Zemo, but with quite a different look than the one he previously had. 

Marvel Studios’ The Falcon and The Winter Soldier
Source: Marvel Studios

Shang-Chi: And the Legend of the Ten Rings was up next, which was given a release date of February 12, 2021, and was also revealed to have Simu Liu in the leading role, Awkwafina, and Tony Leung as The Mandarin. Destin Daniel Cretton is set to direct. 

Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Source: Marvel Studios

Moving back to Disney+, WandaVision was next up, with the series being set to release in Spring 2021. There were also some other details revealed as well, including that it will take place after the events of Avengers: Endgame, and that adult Monica Rambeau was confirmed to appear, who will be portrayed by Teyonah Parris. 

Marvel Studio’s WandaVision
Source: Marvel Studios

We also got some news about the Loki Disney+ series (simply titled Loki). Set to have a Spring 2021 release, it will come out around the same time as WandaVision. There were also details of the plot revealed, including that the scenes of Loki in Endgame will lead into the show, with Feige confirming that it will take place after the Avengers go back in time to 2012 and Loki escapes with the Tesseract—which would completely change his timeline.

Marvel Studios’ Loki
Source: Marvel Studios

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness was next on the list of announcements, with both a logo and release date reveal. The film is set to come out May 7, 2021, and is also to be the MCU’s first ‘scary’ movie, although it will be rated PG-13. The Scarlet Witch was also confirmed to appear in this film, which will tie WandaVision to Doctor Strange.

Marvel Studios’ Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
Source: Marvel Studios

The last two Disney+ announcements were What If…? and Hawkeye. The animated series What If…?’s release period was set as Summer 2021, and was also revealed to have Jeffrey Wright voicing The Watcher, along with a huge cast of past and current MCU stars reprising their roles (but this time as voice actors). 

Marvel Studios’ What If…?
Source: Marvel Studios

Hawkeye was the last of the Disney+ announcements and was given a release period of Fall 2021. There was also confirmation of the fan favorite character Kate Bishop appearing in the series. Based on the style of the logo and teaser video that was shown to the audience, it seems to be somewhat based on the Hawkeye comic series by Matt Fraction. 

Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye
Source: Marvel Studios

One of the most exciting moments of the night was the announcement of the title and details of the fourth Thor movie, Thor: Love and Thunder. Written and Directed by Taika Waititi, the film is set to release November 5, 2021, and will be based on the Mighty Thor comic series. In a big reveal, Natalie Portman was confirmed to be returning to the franchise, but this time as Thor herself. Tessa Thompson and Chris Hemsworth were also confirmed to be returning. 

Marvel Studios’ Thor: Love and Thunder
Source: Marvel Studios

The next announcement of the night was the Cate Shortland directed Black Widow. Black Widow will kick off phase 4 on May 1, 2020, and is the next upcoming film in the MCU. Parts of the cast were confirmed, with David Harbour as Alexei, Florence Pugh as Yelena, O.T Fagbenle as Mason, and Rachel Weisz as Melina. A teaser was shown to audiences in Hall H that showed Widow in action, as well as footage of Taskmaster. 

Marvel Studios’ Black Widow
Source: Marvel Studios

The Fantastic Four gang were confirmed during the panel to be coming to the MCU. Not much in terms of details were revealed, but the confirmation was an exciting one for sure. After a bit of a rocky road with the previous Fantastic Four films, it will be interesting to see how the MCU will handle these characters. 

Last but not least, was Blade. Not much is known about this film yet, other than the casting of Mahershala Ali as Blade. Kevin Feige confirmed that the film is actually slated to kick off Phase 5, meaning that phase 4 will end with Thor: Love and Thunder in November 2021 and/or the Hawkeye series in Fall 2021.

Marvel Studios’ Blade
Source: Marvel Studios

These announcements are setting up a pretty exciting slate for Marvel with both a mix of old and new characters. There is still no news on some other films such as Guardians of the Galaxy 3, Captain Marvel 2, Black Panther 2, so those films will be quite down the line in terms of releases and will join Blade and Fantastic Four in phase 5 sometime after Fall 2021.

Published by Lauren Stevens

Lauren is a 21-year-old undergrad student living in Toronto who doesn't stop talking about Xavier Dolan films and Mr. Robot. Find her on twitter @wrenicole.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: